Prince Edward County, Ontario, Canada
a beautiful island adventure!
      Today's Weather      Quick Search

The Hamlet of Ameliasburgh

Ameliasburg

Our Village was named after Princess Amelia, the 15th child of King George III. This hamlet nestles on Roblin Lake, and was supported by a grist and flour mill, which drew the lake's water to the mill located in what is now the Harry J. Smith Conservation Area. The Conservation Area is a delight for anyone with an eye for beauty, and a delightful spot for your picnic. Be sure to visit the Ameliasburgh Museum housed in a former Methodist church built in 1868. Opposite the museum is a new building belonging to the Seventh Town Historical Society, which houses the Quinte Branch of the Ontario Genealogical Society. The local library is housed in an old schoolhouse built in 1870.

< See Business Directory for Ameliasburgh - Where to Stay, Museums, Churches, Clubs, Services ...

History

Explore the story of "How Christian Street got its name" in Folklore and Legends of Prince Edward County.

Regional